christmas in june: homeschool goodies have arrived!

It’s that time of year all the homeschool geeks look forward to.  Curriculum purchases.  Throughout the school year I research and plan and drool over what we’ll do next year.   I try to adjust to the needs of each child, find the best deals possible, and buy a few items that are NOT curriculum to enhance our homeschool collection.

In years past I have bought a laminator, microscope, learning kits (butterfly pavilions, ect), high quality art supplies– this year it was 3 computers.  They were $200 each!  Thank heaven for tax returns.  The reason behind that purchase was a new curriculum for my 3rd, 5th, and 7th graders.

Switched on Schoolhouse (SOS) is what I landed on for the older 3.  The most important reason behind it was the fact that I’m working full-time.  I needed something that would literally teach them for me.  They will still need some guidance and questions answered, but this form of schooling is what will work best for our family life.  It grades automatically (glory hallelujah!), lists their daily assignments, and I can customize the school schedule any way I please.  It’s a bit on the pricey side in my opinion.  $400 for 5 subjects (Bible, math, language arts, history/geography, and science), but I am very excited that the will be getting a full and comprehensive education with very little prep on my part.

The younger 2 will be using LifePac by the same company, Alpha Omega Publishing.  I have never used that either.  It’s self-teaching as well for readers.  It’s very easy to teach Kindergarten from what I can see.  Therefore, Nick will be able to read and guide the little guy if work takes me away before we finish for the day.  That was an important element for us as a family this year.  It must all be streamlined so anyone (even a babysitter) can help the kids.

Liv has decided she wants to start school right away.  Our projected date for the new year is July 20.  It’s couple weeks earlier than the public schools which gives us a head start and the ability to take breaks when we want.  Everyone’s jazzed about the new learning setup.  Including this super excited nerd mom.

IMG_2885 IMG_2886What have you picked for the upcoming year?  Do you school year-round?  What tips do you have for other homeschool mamas?

One thought on “christmas in june: homeschool goodies have arrived!

Leave a Reply

