8 things we need to know about grace

I love a good second chance.  I need them everyday don’t you?  In the Christian world we call this grace.  I thought it would be fun to look at ten things we need to remember about grace.

1.  Grace is getting what we don’t deserve.  It’s a gift we don’t earn.

Ephesians 2:8-9

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.

2.  We are to freely give grace, just as Jesus has freely given it to us.  We can’t expect people to earn grace from us.  It’s a gift, remember?

Romans 12:3

For I say, through the grace given unto me, to every man that is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think; but to think soberly, according as God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.

3.  Grace comes with a price.  Jesus paid that price for us.  Sometimes for us to show grace is a sacrifice that doesn’t come easy for us either.

Ephesians 5:2

And walk in love, as Christ also hath loved us, and hath given himself for us an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweetsmelling savour.

4.  There is a call to action.  Be graceous!  Give back what the Lord has given you.

Psalm 111:4

He hath made his wonderful works to be remembered: the Lord is gracious and full of compassion.

5.  We need it daily.

Luke 9:23

And he said to them all, If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.

6.  Grace is choice we have.  Have you ever heard someone described as gracious?  I’m not just talking about floating across the floor flawlessly.  I’m glad that’s not the definition.  My clumsy self would have no hope in that.  We can choose to BE gracious towards others.  We can be gracious in our thoughts.  In our hearts. In our actions and words.

Colossians 4:6

Let your speech be always with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.

7.  True grace only comes from the father.  Either to us or through us.

8.  It’s not easy for us, but He can give us strength.  Sometimes His grace is all we have.  It’s always all we need.

2 Corinthians 12

For this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me.  And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Leave a Reply

