humble homesteading: preparing the garden

This week I’ve tried to prepare the garden.  I say “tried” since the duck weed and crab grass are the bane of my garden.  I refuse to use round-up or other chemicals. Sometimes I regret my conscience.  I just can’t do it!  I know it’s wrong.

I’ve raked and pulled, and felt the reality of The Curse.  Thanks Genesis for giving me a person to blame.  Yeah, I know, pathetic.  It’s just help to randomly shout, “Thanks a lot Adam and Eve,” as blisters form on your hands.  It’s therapeutic.

Somewhere in this mess are three garden beds.

IMG_1144

We did all we knew last year to prevent this from happening.  We mowed and weed whacked all around the beds often.  We put that black screen stuff in the bottom and sides of the beds to prevent this.  It happened anyways.  Why?!  I don’t know.  That stuff is just brutal.

Homesteading is humbling.  I never knew the depths of exhaustion I could feel from weeds.  I look forward to planting onions and garlic in a lush garden bed soon.

I’m closing my eyes and dreaming of that now.  *It’s so pretty and yummy*

Yes, that will keep me in that darn bed removing that network of intruders that are trying to make me quit.

IMG_1146

Here’s what it looked like when the raking was done.  Not much better huh?  Now I’ll be soaking the weeds a few more times to loosen the roots.  This is the best tip for digging holes and pulling weeds.  Soak the junk out of it!

IMG_1147

What are you planning for your garden?  Lets dream about weeds disappearing together, shall we?

4 thoughts on “humble homesteading: preparing the garden

  1. I also use raised beds. Perhaps you can use a cover crop such as a red clover that releases nutrients into the ground. That is something I will be trying in my front yard and portions of my veggie beds this year! The clover may be able to keep the other weeds out!

  2. Good thoughts. I have the three raised beds. I really want to fill them to the top with some good top soil. having the raised beds doesn’t keep weeds from growing in, but it helps a lot. I don’t pull nearly as many weeds in the beds than I do from the ground. My dream is to fill each bed with delicious veggies and fruits… one day, and little by little, I may be able to do something of the sort.

Leave a Reply

