when we drift

Driftwood. How many miles does it go? How far did it take to reach that point? Questions for a curious mind. In the Bible we are warned of drifting from our Lord. My heart has been full of sorrow as of late. A couple that are dear to our hearts and lives have drifted apart. The circumstances are unimportant. The end, the “straw that broke the camel’s back” isn’t important in this message. I have prayed and thought over their situation for the last week. I always take on such sorrows and losses as a time for growth and examination in my heart. Divorce is ugly. It effects everyone that knows the couple.

Do friends stop loving them? Do both sides of the family automatically decide that they can no longer care for the other person? Certainly not. It is painful and hard for everyone. It’s such a loss. A severing of two worlds that are joined. I have come to this conclusion: we are all just a breath away from destroying ourselves without Jesus. Every word spoken, movie watched, time spent, book read, are making up how we think and feel. They influence us in such subtle ways. We reap what we sow. We are what we do and think. We get what we put in. I want to sow truth. I want to do the Lord’s will, I want to fill my life with Jesus.

My husband and I have talked over the last week. We want to check our time spent with each other. Are we growing closer, or just being next to each other. Maybe we should watch less shows together, and just talk to each other. We value or marriage. We know it’s a fight to stay humble, serve each other, encourage each other. We have committed to being aware of our weaknesses and draw our strength and wisdom from Jesus.

In this particular couple’s lives, it would be easy for friends to be angry or even hateful to one of them. It’s such a good reminder and a good opportunity to remember the scriptures.

Romans 3:23  For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. 

What is sin?  Read Matthew 5.  Are we not ALL guilty of these?  With Jesus there is always hope.

In ministry we see the ugly side of people.  People in their brokenness, addiction, selfishness, greed, lust, pride.   Being involved with the hearts of man can be a discouraging life.  I have grown to not be surprised by what people do and say.  I’m not easily shocked.  We’ve seen so much!  I have learned to never underestimate the power of the enemy.  I have also seen God work in the mightiest of ways.  I wish I didn’t underestimate the power of Jesus in people.  Sometimes I do.  I’m so thankful He doesn’t give up on them or me.

How can one come against the enemy?  Let God have rein in every part of your heart.  Don’t let your guard down.  We all need Jesus.  Everyday, all day.  Thank goodness he has an open door ministry.  He meets us right where we’re at.  In our darkest, ugliest moments.

 Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.  The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

Philippians 4:8-9

 

One thought on “when we drift

Leave a Reply

