apples

IMG_0895

IMG_0898

Today, I have worked on the apples we picked from Annie’s Apple Orchard.  We have no less that 25 pounds of them.   Some of my favorite recipes for apples are apple cake, apple pie, and apple butter.

First up, apple pie.  No I didn’t feel like making a top crust so I just covered it the whole time with foil.  I’m such a cheater, I know.

The recipe come from a very old cookbook I picked up at a garage sale called The American Women’s Cookbook.  I really love using this cookbook.  I have already posted our favorite apple pie and crust recipes here.  Please enjoy them.

What are you favorite apple recipes?  Leave a link in the comments to share with everyone.

One thought on “apples

  1. Hey, long time no talk :)… anyways…

    I think my favorite apple recipe has to be one of yours too… the apple pie… I also like what’s called a “Fruit Crisp” you can use any fruit… but apples are good.

    2 cups sliced, peeled fruit (apples)
    2 to 4 tbs sugar
    1/2 cup rolled oats
    1/2 cup packed brown sugar
    1/4 cup flour
    1/4 tsp ground nutmeg, ginger or cinnamon
    1/4 cup butter
    1/4 cup chopped nuts, or coconut

    Fruit stir with sugar in 2 qt. baking pan
    combine all other ingredients for topping and sprinkle over fruit
    375 degrees for 30 to 35 mins.
    (Better homes and Gardens New Cook Book, pg. 246)

Leave a Reply

